Welcome to the Online Physio Forum.
    DiRphysio

I am looking for other options with my degree in physiotherapy

Taping
    Hi,

I have been working as a physiotherapist for 2 years now and have currently found myself looking for other career options. I would like to know if anyone knows of other areas that one could get into with the knowledge and qualification of a degree in physiotherapy. I know of such things as medical and surgical repping, and also of medical insurance companies looking for pre-auth consultants.

I would really appreciate some help and advice on the possible routes that i could follow?

Thank you

Similar Threads:

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of Australia
    Current Location
    Australia
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Re: I am looking for other options with my degree in physiotherapy

Hi

I am also going through a change in direction at the moment and I think there are plenty of options out there depending on what appeals to you. Have you been working in private practice or the public system??

You can go into sales and insurance as you have stated but they are not the only options. I do not have any knowledge of what opportunities are like in SA so can only comment generally. Working in the corporate sector is an option, a rehab consultant for work injuries and insurance claims is a coordinating role and completly hands off. You could study a few more papers and go into occupational health and safety. Finally you can practice as a health practitioner but not necessarily as a physiotherapist if there are other treatment philosophies and methods that you are passionate about, that would again require additional study.

A health promotion type role can also provide many opportunities. Get involved in some community/educational programs to promote an aspect of health and well being that appeals to you.

Hope this helps

DiRphysio

Hi Stevieb,