Current Location
    UK, Birmingham
    Member Type
    General Public
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others
    Brief Medical History Overview

Wasting triceps & pectoral, loss of strength

Hello, I'm new to this forum and really need some guidance with an injury I have. My sports are bodybuilding & swimming, I've been training for about 25 years. This is a new injury for me and I just don't know what to do?

It all started back in November, I woke up after sleeping awkwardly on my side and found that it was very difficult to extend my left arm. I had a dull throbbing pain between my deltoid and neck. The pain was quite bad and the maximum dose of ibuprofen & paracetamol with anti-inflammatories was required to manage it. After a week the pain subsided but I have been left with weakness in my left side.

My left triceps and left pectoral muscle are about 50% of the strength of the right hand side. My bench press has been reduced from a regular 160Kg to around 100Kg. Things have improved but only very slightly. My biggest concern is muscle atrophy. My left triceps and left pectoral muscle are visibly smaller, softer and wasting. I visited a chiropractor several times who suggested that I have a prolapsed disc in my neck.

I’ve started using a Tens EMS , electro stimulator unit on the triceps and pectoral to combat the wastage , but I don’t think it’s made a lot of difference. A guy in my gym had a similar experience after suffering whiplash in a car crash and lost control of his pectoral , but he regained control in about 3 months. I’m not in any pain , my problem is muscle wastage and loss of strength.

Please can anyone advise me on what I can do to improve this injury?

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by physiobob; 06-03-2009 at 04:35 PM.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to wakaday For This Useful Post:

Wasting triceps & pectoral, loss of strength

tjb113 (20-01-2020)

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of United States
    Current Location