Current Location
    NZ
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Competency exams

Advertise your physiotherapy job on Physiobob's Job
    Any NZ registration applicants here were "invited to undertake competency examinations to demonstrate your competence" in a specific area?

I have 10 years working experience but the board is "unable to evaluate my competency in neurology" because I didn't work in a neurology physiotherapy unit even though I treated patients with stroke/parkinsons etc in a medical unit. WTF?

Similar Threads:

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of New Zealand
    Current Location
    New Zealand
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Re: Competency exams

????
    Funny that. If you have continuously updated your neurological knowledgebase and have references that confirm your clinical skills in neuro, additional to some peer reviews, performance appraisals, reflective practices, and whatever else you have submitted, that should not have happened. Would be interesting and probably helpful for others to state what you have send them as "evidence" for your competence.

I once worked at a hospital in NZ, where they did some of those competency exams. Nothing special, really, just basic stuff (so I was told by a guy). You get assessed like they assess their students. Pre-read, hypothesis, clinical examination/ treatment, post treatment evaluation and analysis.

If you have got the skills and work experience, it should not be a problem.

Good luck,
    Fyzzio

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of Singapore
    Current Location
    NZ
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Hi,

I have emailed the program coordinator in AUT and await her reply.