Country
    Flag of United States
    Current Location
    Aurora, Co
    Member Type
    Physiotherapy Student
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

US DPT student looking to do clinicals with qualified US physiotherapists working in New Zealand

Taping
    Hi everyone, I am a DPT student in the United States and would love to do a 6 month clinical rotation in New Zealand. My school says this is possible but that I would need to be with a physiotherapist in New Zealand that is also US qualified.

I have been having some trouble finding physiotherapists that are registered in NZ and with a US license as well (due to privacy concerns online). Does anyone have any ideas on how I may be able to find someone who meets these qualifications? Any clinics to contact would be great. Any physiotherapists from NZ on this forum that my school could contact would be great. Please let me know!

Similar Threads:

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of New Zealand
    Current Location
    New Zealand
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Re: US DPT student looking to do clinicals with qualified US physiotherapists working in New Zealand

Hi,
    first up: Sorry, I don't know any Physio that is US qualified.

In order to practise in NZ (whether fully qualified or student clinical placement) you will need permission from the NZ Physioboard and have to contact one of the NZ Physiotherapy Schools.
    See here; Prescribed Qualifications / Clinical Placement | Physiotherapy Board New Zealand

Good luck,
    Fyzzio

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of United States
    Current Location
    Aurora, Co
    Member Type
    Physiotherapy Student
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Re: US DPT student looking to do clinicals with qualified US physiotherapists working in New Zealand

Thanks for the reply Fyzzio.