Member Type
    Other
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Major problem / Symptomatic Areas

Thoracic Spine

Erector spinae problem

Taping
    Hello, I have quite a big problem that prevents me from functioning or training properly.

I have a huge muscle imbalance in my spine extensors.
    The left side is much bigger than the right side and takes more work. He gets tired very quickly, deadlift training is the most problematic. Even just standing or washing dishes is tiresome.

The symptom is simply a burning sensation in the left side of the erector spinae. It is also difficult to activate the right side in exercises. Though I don't know how to do it correctly.
    What exercises do you recommend for isolating the right spine extensor?
    As I said, when I do the usual-basic spine extensor exercises I only feel my left side and I get tired / burn quickly

Similar Threads:

Forum Founder Array
    Official Forum Adviser
    Country
    Flag of Australia
    Current Location
    London, UK
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Re: Erector spinae problem

Hi Peter2 and thanks for the post. I might start by saying because you don't feel the right hand side it might well be that is because it is functioning normally and not in a dysfunctional way. The large bulk of muscle that you might 'see' in that area is often the lats and not so much the erector spinae as they run vertically like cables. Of course you see over the top the various sections of the trapezius and if you're bulked up then some rhomboids as well.