Country
    Flag of United Kingdom
    Current Location
    UK
    Member Type
    Physiotherapy Student
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Question Relapsing-Remitting Multiple Sclerosis - problem list?

I am a first year Physiotherapy student here in the UK and I have some practice case studies to look at and practice with before a practical examination in September. The exam briefly consists of identifying the patient problems, explaining different intervention options and then performing examples of the chosen interventions. One of the practice materials is a 29 year old female with recently diagnosed relapsing-remitting MS and I am having trouble formulating a patient problem list. In the exam they only want a maximum of 3 problems as the exam is timed. Here is the case study below:

PC Referred to your outpatient clinic by neurologist to treat current S&S and discuss long-term management. Patient presenting with a recent history of trips but has not fallen. Hyperreflexia especially in the L lower limb. She has widespread muscle weakness, which is affecting her confidence in the kitchen and taking care of her children.
    HPC 5/12 ago noticed difficulty with routine tasks e.g. getting up from the floor when playing with the children. Needed to steady herself feeling unbalanced as though her R knee would give way. However, this settled and improved so did not bother the GP. 2/12 later she dropped a cup and felt clumsy her arm and hand would shake when she was carrying out an activity (ATAXIA). Again, the S&S went away quite quickly. A month ago, she had an episode of blurred vision and unable to see colour, so she went to see the GP who referred her to a neurologist. After multiple investigations, she has a diagnosis of relapsing remitting MS 1/52 ago.
    PMH Nil of note