Country
    Flag of Canada
    Current Location
    Canada
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Wink Calling all Physiotherapists! Share your experiences...(please!)

Taping
    Hey guys, I'm currently a student studying to become a physiotherapist. I have little practicle experience other than a couple hundred volunteer hours at a local physiotherapy clinic. There's been several questions on my mind about the physiotheraphy profession in general. This board looks well educated and proffessed Forgive me if this is the wrong section to post my inquiries however I'm one of those 'cautious' people so I'd like to test the water a little before I dive in to the serious business! So far I'm loving my experience at the clinic, it seems to be what I've wanted to do and most of my questions have been answered by the practitioner I work with however I'd like to know from several different sources. I've thought about these over the years and these seem to be the main ones I'd like to ask. My questions are as followed:

1. What were some of the challanges you've had with the move from school to career?
    This one is a main one for me because I'm soon to be graduating and am wondering if the experience I have is enough to get a job. My goal is to one day run my own clinic here in Ontario.
    2. What are some of the main responsibilities in owning/running/helping run a clinic? (or if you work in a different environment such as sport physio or research sector, some main responsibilities for that field)
    3. Day-to-day challenges
    Patients following routines (many at my workplace do not and complain about lack of results),
    4. Long-term challenges
    Client issues, monetary issues, etc.
    5. Code of ethics.
    This is another important one for me. I am basically looking for some insight into the field. What tips and tricks can you provide.