Welcome to the Online Physio Forum.
    jillybutt

Active Myofascial Trigger Point Therapy

Must have Kinesiology Taping DVD
    Hi, I am a 3rd year physiotherapy student and just about to start my dissertation, for which i have chosen to research the 'effectiveness of ischaemic compression therapy for active trigger points'. I believe that it is important to retain manual skills in light of recent 'medicalised' approaches to many conditions (i.e. injections). But of course I need to be able to provide evidence on their effectiveness. Although there is information out there for this well used technique, there is little research either clinical or evidentially based from which i can justify this method of treatment. Just hoping that someone out there could help - with views, research or clinical details.
    Thank you in anticipation.

Similar Threads:

Matrix Level Physio Array
    Country
    Flag of Australia
    Current Location
    London
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others
    Try to ask fellow physios in this instance for single case design data, i.e. one patient who benefited from this technique when applied in a way to justify that it was the treatment causing the change. Or if no one can supply data but uses the technique - perhaps be even more radical by outlining a single case design and ask those using the technique to follow your single case guideline and report back to you!

Numerous single case techniques are perhaps more powerful than any RCT

Cris K
    Hi Jilly,
    I trained in the u.s. in neuromuscular therapy - a well defined method for treating trigger points that utilises ischaemic compression as one of the soft-tissue techniques. It works very well, but like much of physio, is poorly researched.
    You may want to use 'neuromuscular therapy' or 'nmt' as search terms on google.