Current Location
    England
    Member Type
    Other
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

How effective is Locomotor Training?

Hi everyone,
    I am currently a college student in the UK and have applied to study for Physiotherapy in Sept 2011. To support my Uni application I have started and EPQ (Extended Project Qualification).

My topic is looking into spinal cord injuries and treatment. Through me research I have come across a form of treadmill training- Locomotor Training which seems popular in America where is has been used.

Can anyone help me please. Are there any statistics avaliable for the general public (i.e. me) where I don't have to pay a heafty fee to access research results?

Is anyone able to answer some further questions such as the benefits, negatives and cost of treatment if I sent out a short questionnaire?

Many thanks in advance for your help, I really appreciate it!

Similar Threads:

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of New Zealand
    Current Location
    Canberra, ACT, AUSTRALIA
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Re: How effective is Locomotor Training?

Hi Smiler 404

Here are a few suggstions:

A cochrane review of locomotor Therpy and SCI.

Locomotor training for walking after spinal cord injury

The Cochrane collaboration is one of the best and most reliable sources of summary info on effectveness for treatment. It is run as not- for-profit and it provides systematic reviews ( and meta-anales where thy can be done) ormedical and alliedhealth institutions. So you are in luck that a good review is provided. Younshould be able to access the full report for free ( depends on your country) and his link should take you to it. If you have difficulty downloading the report thenlet me know.