Current Location
    Aberdeen
    Member Type
    Physiotherapy Student
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

TKR - Unable To Achieve Full Extension

Physical Agents In Rehabilitation
    Hi. I am a Physio student on placement in a rehabilitation ward for elderly patients. There is a patient who has had a knee replacement due to arthritis and is now unable to achieve full extension. In the four weeks i have worked with her she has remained around 38-40 degrees from full extension.

It is quite a significant amount and coupled with the pain from the other knee (due for replacement in future) struggles to walk with a ZWA with assistance of 2. 10 metres walking is a good day. Currently I am doing stretches, PNF, and some exercises. I am also attempting some gentle massage on the hamstring tendons as they are extremely tight compared with other leg.

The leg without the knee replacement also does not achieve full extension so this is likely something the patient has suffered from for many years however has worsened post operation. The non replaced knee is about 20-25 degrees from zero. Anyway I would love to hear some advice on techniques, exercises or other modalities that might be worth trying.

Thanks for any help offered

Similar Threads:

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of Algeria
    Current Location
    bauer5152
    Member Type
    Other
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Re: TKR - Unable To Achieve Full Extension

Thank you so much for your post.

[url=http://watchonlinefreemovies.biz/]Watch Kung Fu Panda 2 Online Free[/url]

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of India
    Current Location
    ahmedabad
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

hi...... i generally deal with such patients.....
    the first thing you can try with the long AKBK knee braces at night and stretching the hamstrings by placing pillows under the heels.