View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Major problem / Symptomatic Areas

Hip, Groin, Pelvis - Anterior - Left

Thigh, Quadriceps - Anterior - Left

Knee - Anterior - Left

Shin - Anterior - Left

Ankle - Left

When do we start exercises after fractures...and what exercises?

Physical Agents In Rehabilitation
    Hi! I work as a Private Community Carer and our company wants us to spend time with our clients supervising them to do (rehab and/or physio)exercises. But we were left on our own as to the proper timing of starting the exercises AND what specific exercises to do for the service users. My questions are:

When can we start exercises for patient discharged home (s/p)status post (1)Fracture Neck Of Femur (2) s/p Total Hip Replacement (3) s/p TKR. Those three are the most common cases I see in the community. If there are other lower limb fractures with recommended start period as to when exercises can start then I would appreciate the added info very much.

What will be the recommended exercises for patient discharged home (s/p)status post (1)Fracture Neck Of Femur (2) s/p Total Hip Replacement (3) s/p TKR.

Is there a nice online article(link pls) dealing with my questions so I can do additional readings aside form the expert advice that I can get from here?

Thank you very much in advance!

Similar Threads:

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of England
    Current Location
    New Zealand
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Re: When do we start exercises after fractures...and what exercises?

Hello,
    I can see your dilemma, but the solution is reasonably simple:
    Exercises can start when the treating surgeon is giving the green light.
    The type, duration, frequency and intensity of exercises is determined by the individual assessment. There are no standard exercises for any fracture or surgical procedure. And many indications and contraindications need to be checked.