Twelve weeks ago I managed a distal fracture of my femur while snowboarding. I'm 30 years old and compared to the experiences I've read of others recovering from similar injuries, I've had it pretty easy. My pain levels have been minimal throughout, I regained full ROM in about 3weeks post-op, and in general have been feeling pretty good. I work as a snowboarding instructor and as such I was in great physical shape prior to the accident. My concern is that after talking with the doctor at my most recent checkup that I may be pushing my rehab too hard as he made it very clear that he wants me to exercise caution regarding what activities I choose to do. My regimen since week 6 has included 25min of minimal resistance stationary biking after receiving permission from the doc to do so, and walks around the neighborhood (crutch assisted) every other night or so since week 9ish. At the 6week check-up the doc said that I had good soft callus formation and that things were looking good. He even went so far as to say he figured that when he saw me at the 11 week mark I would likely be 'good to go'. However, it was obvious to me at the 11 week check up (last week) that my fracture still needed time. The callus material looked much more prevalent and more dense than it did at week 6, but all of the fractures were still essentially visible through the callus tissue. My doctor said that I was still healing and that I was ok to start swimming, but that I still needed to be on at least one crutch or a cane until further notice and that if I'm going to be doing longer walks that I needed to be using two crutches. I spoke with him today briefly to clarify what sort of time intervals we're talking about regarding exercise and he suggested that he wanted me to do no more than 1hr of weight-bearing exercise per day at this point. He said I that the callus still needs to fill in a lot of material and that I'm not "fully healed" which I knew, and that CAUTION was to be my plan.