Flag of United Kingdom
    Current Location
    York
    Member Type
    General Public
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others
    Brief Medical History Overview

Age: 25, Male, Presenting Problem Since: 10 months, Symptom Behaviour: Remaining constant, Symptoms Worse (24hr Behaviour): Fairly constant, Aggravating Factors:: Exercise, use of shoulder, Easing Factors:: Three exercises prescribed by physio, No Investigations, No Diabetes, No history of High Blood Pressure, No Medications, No Osteoporosis, No Hx of Cancer, No Unexplained Weight Loss, No Bowel/Bladder issues, Other Info: No

Major problem / Symptomatic Areas

Thoracic Spine

Shoulder - Posterior - Right

Biomechanical fault in rhomboid

Physical Agents In Rehabilitation
    Hi,

I could do with some advice regarding an injury/fault in the rhomboid area, on the right of my spine.

I've been swimming at a reasonably high level on and off for 16 years. When training a lot, I do 10 hours a week of swimming training, along with 3-4 hours of landwork, involving weights, complex movements etc. When training minimally, training can drop to as low as an average of 1-2 hours per week of swimming. I have periods where I stretch a lot, particularly after swim training but have neglected stretching somewhat over the past few years leading to some notably inflexible hamstrings (I mention this as somebody mentioned to me that hamstring flexibility can have a large impact on other areas, particularly in the back).

Anyway, approximately 10 months ago, I began to get pain in my rhomboid area during swimming sessions. The pain was generally sharp and seemed to be associated with certain movements (such as reaching upwards/forwards) but I wasn't always able to replicate this. When the pain was bad, it hurt to breathe, and move my neck. Resting eased the pain for a while, so I took three-ish months out of training before returning. The pain came back immediately.