Country
    Flag of England
    Current Location
    Warwickshire
    Member Type
    Physiotherapy Student
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

UK Physiotherapy student looking to emigrate to Australia in July: help needed with Registration Process!

Advertise your physiotherapy job on Physiobob's Job
    Hi!

I am a final year physiotherapy student studying in the UK. I am looking to emigrate out to Australia when I qualify which will be in June.

I have done a lot of research on the registration process however the process is confusing my little head a lot!

From what I can gather so far.. to be able to practise physio in Oz, you need to be registered by the Australian Physiotherapy Council (APC). To do this, you need to wait until you are qualified and then register (which can take up to 12 weeks).

I am struggling with the costs of it all..

There is a list of assessment fees on the APC website (see below):
    1. Skills Assessment for Migration Purposes = $550 or $ 1650
    2. Assessment to qualify General Registration: Part 1 = $1100
    Part 2 (Written) = $1900
    Part 3 (Clinical) = $3465
    3. Assessment of Equivalence of Qualification = $2200
    4. Certificate of Equivalence = $1500
    + Admin fees.

Can someone tell me I'm not crazy and that we don't have to pay almost $10,000 to work out in Australia.. this seems slightly ridiculous!

Has anyone been through this process and can give me some guidance on this?
    Is there any sponsorship available to help pay for these fees?