Bangalore, India
    Member Type
    General Public
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

ACL Reconstruction

Physical Agents In Rehabilitation
    Hi,

I am a 33-yr old male, a language teacher by profession.

I fell off the bike on 4th March this year, and the X-rays revealed nothing. When I couldn't get better even after a week, an Wikipedia reference-linkMRI was suggested, which showed that THERE IS A COMPLETE TEAR OF ACL. I changed the doctor who has the degrees MBBS, and FAMS (Swiss). He examined and said I need to undergo the reconstruction surgery about 6 weeks later, and he put me on to Quadriceps Building Exercise, and Electric Stimulation. I started with the weight of 2 kg and now I am at 6.5 kg of weight bearing. The doctor wanted me to see him Friday, so we could fix the surgery date. But he didn't come on Friday, and a few more days. So, I went to another doctor, who has the following degrees, MBBS, MS (Ortho) and DNB. He examined my knee yesterday and said I don't require the ACL Reconstruction right away, and advised me to stop using the crutches one after the other in about a week's time interval. He suggested that I wear a knee cap for about 8-10 hours in the day and don't wear it while I sleep at night. (I have been wearing the knee-brace while at sleep). He said we will go ahead with the surgery if the knee buckles up, or you start to feel that the knee is likely to give way.

What do I do now, as the former doctor said we were going ahead with the surgery (if I had continued with him, he would have operated on by now) whereas the present doctor says we won't require it at least right now. He also said that Yuvraj Singh (Indian Cricketer, and an agile fielder at point) has also been playing with the ACL injury (without undergoing the surgery).

Please advise, thanks.

Similar Threads:

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of United Kingdom
    Current Location
    UK
    Member Type
    Other
    View Full Profile