Current Location
    Manchester
    Member Type
    General Public
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others
    Brief Medical History Overview

Baffling 8 month Grade 2 MCL sprain

About 8 months ago I suffered a grade 2 sprain of my MCL in my left knee, which has since been confirmed with an Wikipedia reference-linkMRI scan, along with some minor fissuring of the patella. On the night of the injury, although in some pain, I was still able to play football, and it wasnīt until I was on the train home and then in bed that night that it really started to get painful. It didnīt swell up massively, but I became virtually unable to move it and could not sleep that night because of the pain.

At that point I got it x-rayed, but nothing showed up and over the coming 6 weeks or so I could feel improvement on it every day. After about 2 months I started playing the odd game of 5 a side football again as it was my weak leg which was injured so I could avoid using it and I only got a few twinges in it when I jogged about which werenīt too painful and when I had sprained my ankle ligaments I had been able to do this and it had not really affected itīs recovery. Over the next 3 months though, progress slowed to a stop, so about 5 months after the injury I eventually went to see a physio to see what was wrong.