Country
    Flag of South Africa
    Current Location
    South Africa
    Member Type
    Other
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Stopped Physio 8 weeks after ACL recon, can i get back to it?

Hi I am 21 years old

I tore my Acl and meniscus about 2 and a half years ago and only got it sorted out in september last year and had a succesfull surgery, i went to physio for about 8 - 10 weeks until the medical aid ran out, i am working minimum wage and find it difficult to find time to do excercise at home, i havnt done any physio for 10 weeks now, it feels great but still suffering some atrophy, i am also studying and wish to play varsity football(soccer) and would like some advice towards working my way back (perhabs a rehabilitation plan or something) iv started jogging and i can do about 2kms before my little calf starts cramping, not sure what else to do...

Thanks
    Mark

Similar Threads:

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of Czech Republic
    Current Location
    Cheltenham
    Member Type
    Other
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Re: Stopped Physio 8 weeks after ACL recon, can i get back to it?

Hi Mark!

I think u should get yourself properly accessed again by a professional, or have they done final examination the day they discharge you? It would be helpful to know what is your muscle strength now. You need strong hamstrings (because of ACL rupture) to be able to run and withstand football training and of course stamina. Your muscles seems to fatigue quite easily still, it is vital that you carry on with your rehab, and for this u MUST find time at home. Twice a day, for 20mins, surely for your own health, this is not much to ask! Just put it into your routine, morning and evening. It is never too late to rehabilitate.

Regards

Monika

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of South Africa
    Current Location
    South Africa
    Member Type
    Other
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others