Current Location
    New Delhi, India
    Member Type
    General Public
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Weakness in shoulder after muscle injury of Levator Scapulae

Must have Kinesiology Taping DVD
    Hi Guys! I am Kushal, 29 years of age. I have been doing gym workouts regularly for more than six years now. My workouts have always been moderate, not heavy (lift a maximum of 45 Kilograms on bench press and my workout lasts not more than 1 hour). I was working out regularly and stopped eight weeks back, after an injury happened. (I would add here that I had not made any sudden or abrupt change in my workouts just before the problem occurred.)

On June 9 2010, I had a suspected muscle injury in the left shoulder muscle which caused pain in left shoulder and nerve compression that resulted in referred pain in left arm and slight numbness in one finger. The pain didn’t start suddenly during my workout in the gym, rather it started in the middle of night while I was deep asleep.

The orthopaedic physician and physiotherapist to whom I went initially both diagnosed “cervical spondylosis” and prescribed me physiotherapy (a combination of diathermy (heat), cervical traction, IFT for initial few days only, TENS, Ultra Sound and some Isometric exercises at home). Another physiotherapist whom I consulted to get a second opinion said that “prolapsed disc” was causing pain and nerve compression.

After taking 17 continuous days of physiotherapy I realized that the pain and numbness had reduced considerably but was not going away entirely. So I consulted another physio. This guy listened to my case history and pain symptoms and diagnosed muscle injury (of Levator Scapulae muscle or some other shoulder muscle) as the cause of pain which was also resulting in the nerve pinch, which in turn, caused referred pain in left arm.