Vancouver, BC
    Member Type
    Other
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others
    Brief Medical History Overview

Question Mystery Groin Pain-- Sports Dr. Stumped

Physical Agents In Rehabilitation
    My case is currently being reviewed at a sports medicine conference. The sports medicine doctor I was seeing is out of ideas. Any suggestions you might have for recovery would be great.

My background:
    I am a runnning/cross country coach, 34, who has not been able to run since April of 2009 due to ever increasing groin pain. I used to run 20-30 miles a week and ran a half marathon in late March. It made for a mentally challenging cross country season this year, but I am determined to find an answer.

My symptoms:
    The pain in my groin was first diagnosed as a strained adducter caused by overuse. (Although in looking at my running log, it might have been from deep lunges during a workout.) No sports hernia. The pain has gotten increasingly more painful the less I have pushed it. I used to "test" the injury once a week. Initially I could run 3 miles once a week before the pain. The last time I tested it I could run only a few minutes. I have not run for 6 weeks to "test" it any longer. I have pain walking long distances, mowing the lawn, etc. I have pain in the morning. It feels like a pitch when I twist over to get out of bed in my groin. I can't kick a soccer ball or do any quick movements (A challenge when I am also the asst. soccer coach for my 5 year old son). Swimming and biking are okay.

What I have tried:
    I have done PT stretches for 10 weeks, ultrasound therapy (twice a week), deep tissue massage, hot baths, daily heat pad 10 minutes in AM and PM. I do low impact cross training. I even tried one of those small hand held ultrasound machines (sent it back). Did an xray (no arthritis, no fracture). Did an Wikipedia reference-linkMRI of groin. Groin actually looks good.

Possible theories: