Member Type
    Other
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others
    Brief Medical History Overview

Lightbulb Rehabilitative equipment for home use

Physical Agents In Rehabilitation
    Hello Everyone

I know this seams like a lot of reading but please read on.

I'm a BTech Industrial/Product Design student from the Cape Peninsula University of Technology in South Africa.
    I am busy doing my second thesis at the moment. The aim of it is to design a piece of assistive exercise equipment that patients can use at home during their rehabilitation period after an injury or operation. The semi-focus of the thesis so far is on lower limbs, because it usually causes a high degree of immobility in patients and makes it difficult, if not impossible, for them to make regular trips to the physiotherapist without the aid of somebody to help them. I want to make it more possible for somebody in this situation to be able to conduct rehabilitative exercises themselves at home so that they can attain a successful recovery. I understand the importance of physiotherapy, but some patients can not physically make it to two or three physio-sessions a week or can simply not afford it. Maybe one physio-session a week or every fortnight would be sufficient if the patient had the right equipment at home to perform the correct exercises?