Vienna, Austria
    Member Type
    Physiotherapy Student
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

The Myth of Core Stability

Must have Kinesiology Taping DVD
    Hello,

I'm a physiotherapy student in my last year and I recently stumbled on this article. I've always been sceptical of the concept of long, voluntary contraction in the muscles near your center, as tightness and co-contraction can be as bad as hypermobility. But, this topic is very complex, and I'd like to hear some other opinions too.

Similar Threads:
    The Myth of Core Stability Attached Files

physiofixme

Re: The Myth of Core Stability

Hi

Check out some of Peter O'Sullivan's work from Curtin University. He is a core strength guru and has actually done some RCT's looking at Transversus Abdominis and Multifidus and their role in stabilising pelvis and helping relieve/prevent Low Back Pain. His stuff actually has some proven results and therefore scientifically relevent.

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of Australia
    Current Location
    namebia
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Cochrane has published Systematic Review on core spinal stabilization.The Systematic Review concluded it as an effective approach for low back pain .I too agree with the above suggestion

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of Austria
    Current Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Member Type
    Physiotherapy Student
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Hello,

thanks for your fast responses.

@Linbin I feel a bit stupid, I couldn't find any Cochrane review related to core-stabilization (I suppose you don't mean the one concerning pregnant women)

@physiofixme
    thanks, will check him out, already found a few interesting articles.

The Physio Detective Array
    Country
    Flag of Australia
    Current Location
    Penshurst, Sydney, Australia
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others