Current Location
    Somewhere in cyberspace
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Talking Problematic Ankle

Must have Kinesiology Taping DVD
    Hey There, I am new to this forum and would very much appreciate any advice that people may be able to provide, i am a new grad working in the musculoskeletal area.

This particular patient presented to me three and a half weeks ago, she had a history of lateral ligament sprain while on vacation in febuary, which she had x - rayd (clear) , recieved physio and felt better , stopped attending physio at the proprioceptive phase of her rehab as she felt so good!!

Patient attended a dance class three and a half weeks ago and did a spinning manouver, felt pain on the lateral aspect of her ankle.
    Stiffness in the morning which eases out after a few minutes of walking.

Objectively she had slightly decreased stance phase, squating was painful for the ankle, SLS was greatly decd on Painful ankle, there was Pain on palpation of ATFL,
    Active Tps of the peroneals, and deep in soleus,Range of DF was decreased secondary to gastroc tightness. Passive mvt of inversion was painful with no exceess laxity, similarly for anterior drawer.The impression i made of this persons condition was of a chronic ATFL Damage with assosciated soft tissue adaptations.

And have been treating it for such with Soft tissue work on effected muscles, Trans frictions to ATFL, Ultrasound, with range of movement exercises progressing to proprioceptive work.Yhis has continued for the past number of weeks with minor changes based on clinical findings.

Forgot to mention she is overpronated of bilaterally, painful foot position is worse than painfree and has been given intrinsic foot exercises with very minor improvements sen so far, last session i have used a taping technique to encourage a better foot position - yet to hear back with regards outcome of this approach.